Frequently Asked Questions About Reckless Driving In Virginia
How serious is Reckless Driving?
In Virginia, Reckless Driving is a crime. It is not just a speeding ticket. Reckless Driving is a misdemeanor, not a felony, but it does produce a lifetime criminal record, which can never be removed and which anyone can easily find online.
How fast do you have to be driving to be committing Reckless Driving by Speed?
You can commit Reckless Driving by Speed either of two ways:
- Driving 20 mph or more over the speed limit, such as driving 55 mph where the speed limit is 35 mph.
- Driving more than 85 mph, regardless of the speed limit, such as driving 85 mph where the speed limit is 70 mph.
What are the penalties for Reckless Driving?
In Rockbridge County, jail sentences for Reckless Driving are not common. However, a Reckless Driving conviction results in a large fine, and often a driver’s license suspension.
Should I have an attorney to represent me for a Reckless Driving charge?
In Virginia, anyone charged with Reckless Driving should have an attorney. It is best to have an attorney from the county where you are charged, who handles Reckless Driving cases regularly. I represent local and out-of-state drivers in Reckless Driving and other criminal cases.
What can be done to avoid being convicted of Reckless Driving?
In Rockbridge County, a Reckless Driving charge can often be reduced to speeding. Speeding is not a crime. Careful preparation is essential to maximizing your chances of such a reduction.
Do I have to appear in court?
If you are represented by an attorney, then you do not have to appear in court. However, you may be able to improve your chances of a good result by accompanying your attorney to court.
Get A Free Consultation
And Case Evaluation
If you have been charged with Reckless Driving in Rockbridge County and have questions, give attorney James D. McMichael a call at 703-258-4277 or use the contact form below to get a free consultation and case evaluation.